The Underspire FAQ is a collection of the official FAQ posted by Para Bellum and any rules clarifications that have been put under the Discord. In all cases they have come from a Para Bellum developer and are not the Underspire’s personal interpretation of a rule.
This page was created as a way to consolidate the rules questions in one place for easy reference.
August 12th, 2020
Source: Para Bellum Wargames Official FAQ
How is the Imperial Officer’s Supremacy Ability intended to work?
The Imperial Officer’s ability essentially allows you to rearrange your
command Stack when used. Essentially, you will rearrange it once after
you have seen which player will be the First Player for the Turn.
Regiments with Arching Fire and more than 1 Rank still get only a single shot from the extra Ranks. Is that intentional?
Yes. While it would account to fluff to allow for all stands to fire as
obscured, we find the extra shots giving the regiment an unfair
advantage thus for balance purposes only 1 shot is counted from the
How do Character Draw Events and Special Rules work while the Character is not on the Battlefield?
The Character’s Draw Events and Special Rules are ignored, unless they
Affect specific out‐of‐battlefield situations (such as providing +1 to
Reserves Roll or allow re‐rolls etc)
Would bring the Regiment on the Battlefield (such as providing
While Shooting does not cause Morale, Spellcasting does. Is that
Yes. Raising your shields against a hail of arrows is one thing, seeing
swathes of your comrades being blasted to bits is quite another.
During the free wheel given at the end of a Charge Action, can I also “move laterally” in order to bring more stands in Contact?
No. You may only Wheel from the point you Touch.
August 6th, 2020
Source: Para Bellum Wargames Ltd Facebook
Q: I’ve a question thats come up on Discord. If a retinue is restricted, you pay double points. But how does that work for Tier 2 tactical? Is it 30+perk, or 30+(perk*2)?
A: It would be (tier cost * 2) + perk
July 22nd, 2020
Q: Will you be bringing more missions to the game?
A: We intend to release missions for Organized Play soon.
Q: While Shooting does not cause Morale, Spellcasting does. Is that intentional?
A: Yes. Raising your shields against a hail of arrows is one thing, seeing swathes of your comrades being blasted to bits is quite another.
Q: The rulebook dictates that I must place a Regiment coming from Reserves on the table edge, and move it as if it were starting at the edge. Can I place it diagonally or must it always be flush?
A: It must always start Flush to the table edge, however you may wheel immediately, as long as at the end of that Regiment’s activation it is wholly and legally on the battlefield.
Q: During a Charge Action, can I start a Charge Move from the front Facing of a Regiment, but wheel my Regiment so that it now is on the target Regiment’s Flank?
Q: During the free wheel given at the end of a Charge Action, can I also “move laterally” in order to bring more stands in Contact?
A: No. You may only Wheel from the point you made contact with.
Q: Do stats increases gained by “Adaptive Evolution” from the Spires Mutation List last for the whole game?
Q: What happens when I cast “Roots of Stone” to a Regiment that has already been activated this turn?
A: The effects last until the end of the Regiment’s next Activation.
Q: Do you get the Shield’s bonus against “Aura of Death”?
A: Yes. Shields will be amended to provide their benefit against all Hits originating from the Regiment’s Front.
Q: Do the effects of the Nords’ Sacrificial Lamb from last until the end of the Game?
Q: Do Impact Attacks benefit from Special Rules such as Flurry or leave that activate during a Clash Action?
A: No – Impact Attacks are part of a Charge Action.
Q: All Draw Events are activated first or can they be activated between the Regiment’s Actions?
A: The player chooses one Draw Event to activate at the start of the Regiment’s Activation. In addition, they activate all Decay Draw Events immediately after that.
Q: How does Resist Decay work when a Character has that Special Rule and the Regiment does not?
A: You roll for all other Stands as normal and calculate your total Wound Pool. Then, for each Stand with the Resist Decay X Special Rule, if the Decay X is greater than the Resist Decay X special rule, you roll as many dice equal to the difference and add to the total would pool as normal; if not, you do not roll any dice.
Q: Does Tier 3 Mastery of the Flesh allow you to resolve the same Draw Event twice?
Q: Can I get Tier 2 or more from 2 or more categories?
A: No. Each Retinue upgrade is represented by a Model, so your total Tiers must always be 0-3.
Q: What happens if a Regiment is joined by a Character, and then all the non-Character Stands are removed as Casualties?
A: The Character Stand is removed with them.
Q: Can a non-Warlord Character use a Supremacy Ability they may have acquired somehow?
Q: Can I use the automatic success of a Regiment with the Flank Special Rule to bring to the table a Regiment other than that?
Q: Can Medium and Heavy Characters be used to claim Objectives, despite being part of a Light Regiment?
Q: When I use an ability that tells me to Draw my next Command Card and give that Regiment a Bonus, what happens when that card is a Character card?
A: That ability will have no further effect and the Character card is returned on Top of your Command Stack.
Q: Is a natural roll of 1 always considered a success during a Defence/Injury roll of any kind caused by a Volley or Spellcasting Action?
A: No. This will be amended.
July 7th, 2020 (1.03)
Q: Can I use the Shield of my Character during a Duel?
A: Shields will be reworked to work against all types of Hits originating from one’s front Arc.
Q: Shooting as a Regiment engaged in melee depends on the line of sight of the firing Regiment for Obscured– is that intentional?
Q: Does a Charging Regiment need to take the closest route to the target Regiment?
A: The Charging Regiment performs their move according to the March Action rules. This means that they can wheel any number of times during their Charge, however they may not exceed their Charge Range by doing so. At the end of their Charge, they must be in contact with the Target Regiment, and they gain a free Wheel to Flush (up to 90 degrees).
Q Can we opt to not wheel flush to the opponent?
A: No, you have to always attempt to wheel flush in order to Engage as many enemy Stands.
Q: If my Regiment fails a Charge, how much does it move?
A: Should you fail a Charge your Regiment only moves in inches equal to the die roll. For example, if your roll a “3” and fail the Charge roll as a Result you only move “3” inches directly towards the Charge target.
Q: Using Fluid Formation’s Free Reform could cause a Regiment to gain a bit in Inches. Is that intentional?
Q: Regiments with Arching Fire and more than 1 Rank still get only a single shot from the extra Ranks. Is that intentional?
Q: Can I take less than 3 Retinue Models for my Characters?
A: Yes, you may field 0-3 Models as part of your Retinue.
Q: How do Character Draw Events and Special Rules work while the Character is not on the Battlefield?
A: The Character’s Draw Events and Special Rules are ignored, unless they either:
• Affect specific out-of-battlefield situations (such as providing +1 to Reserves Roll or allow re-rolls etc)
• Would bring the Regiment on the Battlefield (such as providing “Flank” etc)
Q: When half of the Regiment’s Stands are only partially over a Water Terrain, does the Regiment still suffer the penalty?
A: Yes. The Regiment suffers the movement penalty until it has completely cleared the feature.
Q: Eccentric dictates that we must select 2 Core Regiments. Does that mean Mainstay?
A: Yes. We blame the office Ugr for that. Simpler beings, they use simpler words.
Clarifications from the Discord (December 2019 – June 2020)
Q: When it comes to reinforcement line, does a medium stand in a regiment of lights (jarl with raiders for example) create its own separate line for bringing on heavies?
A: the class of the regiment determines the line. A character is not a regiment, it is just a stand with a class.
Q: Catabolic Node: Do the hits inflicted by Catabolic node count as being part of the clash action and are they affected by a shield?
A: It hits as per its entry from the front, therefore does not bypass the shield. Yes it counts as part of a clash action.
Q: Reinforcements came up earlier today, and zone is redrawn after every activation? Does this mean that I could travel the whole table length in round one?
A: The reinforcement line is determined at the beginning of the turn. However, it can only be pushed back as a result of an enemy crossing it. Not be pushed forward.
You will need to wait until your next turn before you push further.
Q: How does Cascading Degeneration work if the character stand is destroyed?
A: If the character stand is destroyed then it is no longer in base contact and therefore does not inflict decay to enemies in contact.
Q: For Volley Actions does a front row of a unit obstruct the back row of the unit?
A: The front row fire normally and the other rows support with one shot per stand.
Q: Are regiments inside garrison terrain unaffected by spells such as Eruption and Fire Wall that affects stands?
A: The stands are the entity. Miniatures are there to track attacks, wounds, etc. Therefore it is stands that occupy garrison terrain. Spells will affect your stands
when inside terrain.
Q: Does a character replace a model in an infantry regiment or does he stand on his own stand.
A: An infantry character stands on his own stand as of the 1.02 version of the rules. Therefore a regiment of 3 stands of infantry would be a total of 4 stands when you count the character.
Q: In the case where multiple decay would stack at different moments of a turn, how does decay interact with the resist decay rule?
A: You add the total decay and subtract the resist decay.
Q: Do priests count for the purpose of enemy interference.
A: Both are casters, therefore both count for enemy interference.
Q: Clarify mixed-class regiments scoring (ex a light regiment with a medium character)
A: When contesting, you contest against enemy scoring stands. Your 3 light stands contest the enemies 3 medium scoring stands. The enemies 3 medium stands, contest
your 1 scoring stand. In that case no one scores. Lets see another example.
Player A has a medium regiment that is 4 stands. Player B has a light regiment that has suffered casualties and is 2 stands. However a medium character stand has joined.
(so it has a total of 3 stands in the regiment). Player B contests against 3 of Player A’s medium stands. (2 because of the two light stands and 1 because of the medium character
stand). Player A contests against the Medium Character Stand. In this case Player A is left with one uncontested scoring stand and therefore scores.
Q: Explain Broken and Shattered status when you have healing and resurrecting stands thrown into the mix?
A: For matters of being Broken or Shattered you need to lose half the stands that you started the turn with.
Example: An 8 stand regiment loses 4 stands and becomes broken. Then heals and gets 2 stands back for a total of 6.
Later it loses 2 stands again, since the regiment started with 8 stands and losing 4 was its breaking point then losing 2 would be its shattering point regardless of how much you healed.
Errata August 12th, 2020
Volley, Rolling to Hit p. 158
Change the text to read “Should the Volley Characteristic of the Acting Regiment’s Stand be 6 and above, that Stand gains the Rapid Volley Special Rule.”
Clash, Rolling to Hit, page 164
Change the text to read: “Should the Clash Characteristic of the Acting
Regiment’s Stand be 6 and above, that Stand gains the Relentless Blows
Standard Bearer, 184
Change the text to read: “A Regiment with a Standard Bearer gains the
Unstoppable Special Rule, and…”
Characters and Wounds, page 189
Change the words “Melee Actions” to “Clash Actions”
Eccentric, page 194
Replace the word “Core” with “Mainstay”.
Armor Piercing X, page 214
Change text to read: “Enemy Regiments suffer a penalty to their Defence
against Hits with this special rule, made during a Volley or Spellcasting
Action, equal to the rule’s attribute. E.g. A unit with Armor Piercing 2
would penalize its target’s Defence by 2 points when defending against
Cleave X, page 214
Change text to read: “Enemy Regiments suffer a penalty to their Defence
against Hits with this special rule, made during a Clash or Duel Action,
equal to the rule’s attribute. E.g. A unit with Cleave 2 would penalize its
target’s Defence by 2 points when defending against these Hits.”
Deadly Blades, page 214
Change the text to read “…against Hits caused by a Stand with this
special rule during a Clash or Duel Action,…”
Brutal Impact X, page 214
Change the text to read: “Enemy Regiments suffer a penalty to their
Defence against Impact Hits caused with this special rule, equal to the
rule’s attribute. E.g. A Regiment with Impact Hits 2 would reduce its
target’s Defence by 2 when defending against these Hits.”
Precise Shot, page 216
Change the text to read “all To Hit Rolls of ‘1’ count the target
Regiment’s total Defence as 0.”
Smite, page 216
Change text to read: “Enemy Regiments count their total Defence as 0
against Hits caused by a Stand with this Special Rule during a Clash or
Resist Decay X, page 216
Change the text to read: “Stands with this special rule contribute up to X
fewer dice to the dice rolled for Decay draw events. If the Resist Decay
value equals or exceeds the Decay value of the draw event, this Stand
contributes no dice.”
March Through, page 148
Change the text to read only: “may March through friendly Regiments
Charge Move, page 150
3rd Paragraph – Change the text to read: “with another enemy Regiment,
Garrison Terrain or Impassable Terrain”
4th Paragraph – Change the text to read: “may come to within 1” of
other enemy Regiments, Garrison Terrain and Impassable Terrain during
a Charge Move.”
Aligning a Charge, page 150
Amend the first paragraph on page 150 as such:
“…given for a March Action (see page 146) *and treat it as if it had a
March Characteristic equal to the Charge Distance.*
During this move…”
Check for Obscuration, page 156
Change text to: “If no Regiments or Obscuring Terrain break this line
*and the firing Stand shoots from the Flank or Rear Arcs of the target
Broken Regiments, page 176
Add the following paragraph:
Receive a -2 Penalty to the Charge Distance
Do not receive benefits to their Resolve due to Regiment Size
Additionally, Characters in Broken Regiments:
May not refuse Duels
May as a Draw Event forego their Action(s) to remove a Broken counter
from the Regiment they are in. Follow the rules of Rally or Combat Rally
Actions (as appropriate) as if the Regiment had performed them.
Spellcasting, Choose Targets, page 199
Replace the following sentence:
“Unlike a Volley Action, a Spellcasting Action does not require Line of
Sight. Providing the Regiment is within Range, you may choose it as a
“Spells that cause Hits require Line of Sight, while all other Spells do not.
In either case, choose a Target within Range of the Spell. Additionally,
when your Spellcaster is in base contact with an Enemy Regiment, that
Regiment is the only Regiment they may target with Spells that cause
Fluid Formation, page 215
Add to Fluid Formation the following sentence:
“A Regiment with the Fluid Formation special rule can choose Targets
and claim LoS from any Arc during a Volley Action. Where such is the
case, count the closest line of Stands as the First Rank, and all others
contribute a single shot as normal.”
Flank, page 215
Change the text to read: “A Regiment containing at least one Stand with
this special rule does not contribute a die to the Reinforcement Roll if it
would normally do so. Instead, the player will choose whether it will
arrive from Reinforcements or it will delay for a later turn. When the
Turn comes that the Regiment’s Class automatically passes
Reinforcement Rolls, it cannot use this ability to further delay its entrance.”
Fire Dart, page 249 Instead of “Cleave X”, this spell now has “Armor Piercing X”
Provoke Instability, Spires
Change the text to read: All friendly Stands gain +X Attack. All friendly Regiments gain Decay X Draw Event.
Lava Shots, page 280 Change the text to read: “The Character gains the Precise Shot special Rule.”
Fireball, page 281 Instead of “Cleave X”, this spell now has “Armor Piercing X” Eruption, page 281 Instead of “Cleave X”, this spell now has “Armor Piercing X”
Járngreipr, page 298 Change the text to read: “During a Duel Action, the Character gains the Relentless Blows Special Rule.”
Errata August 5th, 2020
Flank, page 215
Change the text to read: “A Regiment containing at least one Stand with this special rule does not contribute a die to the Reinforcement Roll if it would normally do so. Instead, the player will choose whether it will arrive from Reinforcements or it will delay for a later turn. When the Turn comes that the Regiment’s Class automatically passes Reinforcement Rolls, it cannot use this ability to further delay its entrance.”
Shields X, page 217
Change the text to: “This Stand has +1 Defence against all hits originating from the Regiment’s Front Arc.”
Seizing Territory, page 221
Change the text to read: “Note that only Medium and Heavy Stands in
Regiments can seize territory – Light Stands in Regiments can only
Plaguelord, page 264
Change the text to read: “Whenever an enemy Regiment in contact with this Character’s Regiment receives a Decay X Draw Event, increase the Decay X value by 1.”
Flame Wall, page 269
Change the point cost to 45.
Flame Wall, page 281
Change Casting Difficulty to “3, Scaling”
Eruption, page 269
Change the point cost to 45.
Eruption, page 281
Change Casting Difficulty to “3, Scaling”
Change the text to read: “Nominate a Stand of the target Regiment that is within range. Then, all Regiments (friendly and enemy) within 6” of that Stand suffer 1 Hit for each Stand within that distance. All Hits suffered from Eruption have the Armor Piercing 1 special rule. Measure distance to each Stand from the closest edge of the nominated Stand.”
Elemental Puissance, page 267
Change the text to read thus: Your Warlord Tempered Sorcerer gains one additional action this Activation. Note that this allows them to perform two identical actions per Activation, however they may must cast a different Spell if they choose the Spellcasting Action twice.
Heart of the Mountain, page 280
Replace the word “increase” with “decrease”.
Fueled by the Furnace, page 280
Change its Masteries type to “Arcane”.